

APPROVED

# FORT ORD REUSE AUTHORITY BOARD OF DIRECTORS SPECIAL MEETING MINUTES 2:30 p.m., Thursday, February 13, 2020 | Carpenters Union Hall 910 2nd Avenue, Marina, CA 93933

#### 1. CALL TO ORDER

Chair Supervisor Jane Parker called the meeting to order at 2:49 p.m.

#### 2. PLEDGE OF ALLEGIANCE

The Pledge of Allegiance was led by City of Marina Mayor Pro-Tem Gail Morton at the February 13, 2020 Regular Board Meeting.

3. ACKNOWLEDGMENTS, ANNOUNCEMENTS, AND CORRESPONDENCE None.

### 4. ROLL CALL

# **Voting Members Present:**

Supervisor Jane Parker (County of Monterey), Supervisor John Phillips (County of Monterey), Supervisor Mary Adams (County of Monterey), Councilmember John Gaglioti (City of Del Rey Oaks), Councilmember Frank O'Connell (City of Marina), Mayor Pro-Tem Gail Morton (City of Marina), Councilmember Alan Haffa (City of Monterey), Mayor Ian Oglesby (City of Seaside), Councilmember Jon Wizard (City of Seaside), Councilmember Steve McShane (City of Salinas), Councilmember Jan Reimers (City of Carmel-by-the-Sea), Councilmember Cynthia Garfield (City of Pacific Grove), Mayor Mary Ann Carbone (City of Sand City)

## **Ex-officio (Non-Voting) Board Members Present:**

Kathleen Lee (20<sup>th</sup> Congressional District), Erica Parker (29<sup>th</sup> State Assembly District), Todd Muck (TAMC), Dr. P.K. Diffenbaugh (Monterey Peninsula Unified School District), Steve Matarazzo (University of California, Santa Cruz), Lawrence Samuels (California State University Monterey Bay), Jim Laughlin (United States Army), Bill Collins (BRAC), Lisa Rheinheimer (Monterey-Salinas Transit), David Martin (Monterey Peninsula College), Keith Van Der Maaten (Marina Coast Water District)

#### 5. BUSINESS ITEMS

a. Nomination of the City of Seaside as FORA Successor to Environmental Services Cooperative Agreement ("ESCA") and Local Reuse Authority ("LRA")/Economic Development Conveyance Agreement with U.S. Army

Executive Officer Joshua Metz introduced the item, noting that the Board of Supervisors and the Administrative Committee ("AC") met to review the proposed Agreement with jurisdictions and their legal counsels. The AC recommended the Board approve the City of Seaside as the Environmental Services Cooperative Agreement ("ESCA") Economic Development Conveyance ("EDC") Memorandum of Agreement/ Local Redevelopment Agency ("LRA") Successor-In-Interest. Regional Government Services consultant Kendall Flint provided in-depth background of the Agreement and reviewed all amendments section-by-section. Staff, counsel and consultants heard questions from Board members.

**MOTION**: On motion by Board member Morton and seconded by Board member O'Connell and carried by the following vote, the Board moved to approve the nomination of City of Seaside as FORA Successor to ESCA and LRA/EDC Agreement with U.S. Army with proposed amendments to sections 9 and 12.

**SUB-MOTION**: On motion by Board member Wizard and seconded by Board member Gaglioti and carried by the following vote, the Board moved to approve the nomination of City of Seaside as FORA Successor to ESCA and LRA/EDC Agreement with U.S. Army as presented in the staff recommendation.

Roll Call Vote: (10 AYES; 3 NOES) Motion Passed by Majority – 2<sup>nd</sup> Vote Required

Item 5a: Motion				
Director Parker	NO	Director Reimers	AYE	
Director McShane	AYE	Director Haffa	AYE	
Director O'Connell	NO	Director Gaglioti	AYE	
Director Morton	NO	Director Wizard	AYE	
Director Adams	AYE	Director Oglesby	AYE	
Director Phillips	AYE	Director Garfield	AYE	
Director Carbone	AYE			

# b. 2018 Transition Plan Implementation 2<sup>nd</sup> Vote

Mr. Metz introduced the item and Authority Counsel reviewed the second vote. After discussion, Chair Parker called for the 2<sup>nd</sup> vote on the motion.

**MOTION:** On motion by Board member Morton and seconded by Board member O'Connell and carried by the following vote, the Board moved to continue the second vote on this item to the meeting when the second vote on item 5a will be taken.

Roll Call Vote: (2 AYES; 11 NOES) Motion Failed

2<sup>nd</sup> Vote

Item 5b: Motion				
Director Parker	NO	Director Reimers	NO	
Director McShane	NO	Director Haffa	NO	
Director O'Connell	AYE	Director Gaglioti	NO	
Director Morton	AYE	Director Wizard	NO	
Director Adams	NO	Director Oglesby	NO	
Director Phillips	NO	Director Garfield	NO	
Director Carbone	NO			

#### c. PUBLIC COMMENT

Public comment was received.

<sup>\*</sup>Director Morton withdrew the motion.

# d. ITEMS FROM MEMBERS

None.

# e. ADJOURNMENT at 4:14 p.m.

Minutes Prepared by: Natalie Van Fleet Administrative Assistant

Approved by:

Joshua Metz Executive Officer